Elect Democratic Women Congratulates Christina Bohannan (IA-01), Monica Tranel (MT-01), and Sue Altman (NJ-07) on their Primary Election Successes

WASHINGTON, DC –– Today, Elect Democratic Women (EDW), the Congressional Member-led committee dedicated to electing pro-choice Democratic women to Congress, congratulates the following women on their success in advancing to the general election after last night’s primary elections:

  • Christina Bohannan: IA-01
  • Monica Tranel: MT-01
  • Sue Altman: NJ-07

“Elect Democratic Women congratulates Christina Bohannan, Monica Tranel, and Sue Altman on their success in last night’s primary elections. All three women have demonstrated their commitment to protecting reproductive rights and championing policies that uplift all women and families. EDW is proud to continue supporting their campaigns and working with them toward victory in November’s general elections,” said EDW Chair, Rep. Lois Frankel.

Christina Bohannan, IA-01: Christina Bohannan has served her community as a law professor, former engineer, mom, and Iowa state Representative. Christina will face Republican Rep. Mariannette Miller-Meeks in November to flip this competitive seat from red to blue. 

Monica Tranel, MT-01: Monica Tranel is a lawyer and a world-class rower who represented the U.S. in two Olympics. Monica will face Republican Rep. Ryan Zinke in November to flip this competitive seat from red to blue.

Sue Altman, NJ-07: Sue Altman is a former teacher, professional basketball player, and non-profit Executive Director. Sue will face Republican Rep. Tom Kean Jr., in November to flip this competitive district from red to blue.


Elect Democratic Women was formed in 2018 by Democratic members of Congress with the purpose of electing more pro-choice Democratic women to Congress and higher office, based on the understanding that democracy is best served by a diverse Congress that reflects the people they represent. 

The Executive Board is made up of six sitting members of Congress: Chair Lois Frankel, Rep. Joyce Beatty, Rep. Julia Brownley, Rep. Chrissy Houlahan, Rep. Annie Kuster, and Rep. Norma Torres.