Elect Democratic Women Congratulates Jessica Morse (CA-03), Luz Rivas (CA-29), and Laura Friedman (CA-30) on their Victories in the California Primary

WASHINGTON, DC – Today, Elect Democratic Women (EDW), the Congressional Member-led committee dedicated to electing pro-choice Democratic women to Congress, congratulates the following women on their victories in last night’s California primary elections:

  • Jessica Morse, CA-03
  • Luz Rivas, CA-29
  • Laura Friedman, CA-30

“On behalf of the EDW Board, we are thrilled to congratulate Jessica, Luz, and Laura on their victories in last night’s primary election. Pro-choice voters have shown that they are eager to support women on the ballot who are committed to protecting women’s healthcare and advancing policies that impact women and their families,” said EDW Chair, Rep. Lois Frankel. “These women will make powerful and effective leaders in Congress and we look forward to continuing to work with them to ensure they win in November.”

Jessica Morse, CA-03: Jessica Morse, the former California Deputy Secretary for Wildfire Resilience will advance to the general election where she will run against Republican Rep. Kevin Kiley to flip this competitive district from red to blue.

Luz Rivas, CA-29: Luz Rivas, a member of the California State Assembly and non-profit founder will advance to the general election to fill Rep. Tony Cárdenas’ open seat.

Laura Friedman, CA-30: Laura Friedman, a state Assembly member and former Glendale Mayor, will advance to the general election to fill Rep. Adam Schiff’s open seat. 


Elect Democratic Women was formed in 2018 by Democratic members of Congress with the purpose of electing more pro-choice Democratic women to Congress and higher office, based on the understanding that democracy is best served by a diverse Congress that reflects the people they represent. 

The Executive Board is made up of six sitting members of Congress: Chair Lois Frankel, Rep. Joyce Beatty, Rep. Julia Brownley, Rep. Chrissy Houlahan, Rep. Annie Kuster, and Rep. Norma Torres.