Elect Democratic Women Congratulates Rep. Andrea Salinas (OR-06), Maxine Dexter (OR-03), and Janelle Bynum (OR-05) on their Victories in the Oregon Primary

WASHINGTON, DC –– Today, Elect Democratic Women (EDW), the Congressional Member-led committee dedicated to electing pro-choice Democratic women to Congress, congratulates the following women on their victories in last night’s Oregon primary elections:

  • Rep. Andrea Salinas, OR-06
  • Maxine Dexter, OR-03
  • Janelle Bynum, OR-05

“Elect Democratic Women is pleased to congratulate Rep. Andrea Salinas, Maxine Dexter, and Janelle Bynum on their victories in Oregon’s primary election. All three women have dedicated their careers to serving their communities and uplifting women and families. We look forward to working with them toward success in November and are confident they will continue to fight for Oregon and to protect reproductive rights in Congress,” said EDW Chair, Rep. Lois Frankel. 

Rep. Andrea Salinas, OR-06: Rep. Andrea Salinas has served Oregon’s 6th district since 2023 after winning one of the nation’s most competitive elections. She is a staunch advocate for accessible and affordable healthcare and during her first team has fought hard to protect women’s reproductive freedoms. Rep. Salinas will face Republican Mike Erickson in the general election.

Maxine Dexter, OR-03: Maxine Dexter is an Oregon physician and serves in the Oregon House of Representatives. She will face the Republican nominee in November to hold this solid blue seat and bring her medical expertise to Congress to protect women’s reproductive freedom and expand access to affordable health care.

Janelle Bynum, OR-05: Janelle Bynum operates a small business of four restaurants and serves as a state representative, where she has worked to protect statewide access to reproductive freedom and will continue to do so in Congress. In November, Janelle will face Republican Rep. Lori Chavez to flip this competitive district.


Elect Democratic Women was formed in 2018 by Democratic members of Congress with the purpose of electing more pro-choice Democratic women to Congress and higher office, based on the understanding that democracy is best served by a diverse Congress that reflects the people they represent. 

The Executive Board is made up of six sitting members of Congress: Chair Lois Frankel, Rep. Joyce Beatty, Rep. Julia Brownley, Rep. Chrissy Houlahan, Rep. Annie Kuster, and Rep. Norma Torres.