Elect Democratic Women Congratulates Rep. Yadira Caraveo and Laura Gillen (NY-04) on their Success in the Colorado and New York Primaries

WASHINGTON, DC –– Today, Elect Democratic Women (EDW), the Congressional Member-led committee dedicated to electing pro-choice Democratic women to Congress, congratulates the following women on their success in last night’s primary elections in Colorado and New York:

  • Rep. Yadira Caraveo, CO-08
  • Laura Gillen, NY-04

“Elect Democratic Women is thrilled to congratulate Rep. Caraveo and Laura on their success in last night’s primary elections,” said EDW Chair, Rep. Lois Frankel. “Reproductive rights are on the ballot and these women have proven their dedication to protecting our freedoms and championing policies that lower costs for all families. The EDW Board looks forward to working with them toward success in November.”

Rep. Yadira Caraveo, CO-08: Rep. Yadira Caraveo is a pediatrician and accomplished legislator who has served in Congress since 2023. She will face Republican candidate Gabe Evans in November to hold this competitive seat.

Laura Gillen, NY-04: Laura Gillen was the first Democrat to be elected Hempstead Town Supervisor in 112 years and prior to that, was an adjunct professor of law at Hofstra University. She will challenge Rep. Anthony D’Esposito in the general election to flip this crucial seat from red to blue.


Elect Democratic Women was formed in 2018 by Democratic members of Congress with the purpose of electing more pro-choice Democratic women to Congress and higher office, based on the understanding that democracy is best served by a diverse Congress that reflects the people they represent. 

The Executive Board is made up of six sitting members of Congress: Chair Lois Frankel, Rep. Joyce Beatty, Rep. Julia Brownley, Rep. Chrissy Houlahan, Rep. Annie Kuster, and Rep. Norma Torres.