Elect Democratic Women Endorses Monica Tranel in Montana’s 1st Congressional District

WASHINGTON, DC – Today, Elect Democratic Women (EDW), the only member-led committee dedicated to electing more Democratic women to Congress, announced its endorsement of Monica Tranel in Montana’s 1st Congressional District.

“The Elect Democratic Women board is proud to endorse Monica Tranel in Montana’s 1st Congressional District. Monica has an unyielding work ethic and isn’t one to back down from a fight,” said Rep. Lois Frankel (D-FL), chair of Elect Democratic Women. “As an attorney, Monica stopped out-of-state billionaires from profiting off hard-working Montanans and as a world-class rower, she used her incredible drive and determination to represent the U.S. in the Olympics. Montanans need someone like Monica standing up for them in Congress, fighting for small businesses, protecting a woman’s right to choose, and uplifting women and their families. We are looking forward to working with her to flip this seat.” 

“I am honored to be endorsed by Elect Democratic Women. I was raised on a ranch in eastern Montana with my nine siblings, went on to compete in two Olympics, and have dedicated my 25-year career as an attorney in Montana working for Montanans. If elected, I would be the first female Olympian to ever serve in Congress. Today, there is not a single Democrat between Seattle and Minneapolis in the House. I would bring a much needed voice from the Western U.S. to Congress, as well as my experience growing up in and working for Montana’s families, ranchers, and small businesses. I also have experience working with powerful women to accomplish a shared goal – something I’m excited to do alongside the leaders of Elect Democratic Women,” said Monica Tranel (MT-01).


Elect Democratic Women was formed in 2018 by Democratic members of Congress with the purpose of electing more pro-choice Democratic women to Congress and higher office. We believe that democracy is best served by a diverse Congress that reflects the people they represent. 

The Executive Board is made up of six sitting members of Congress: Chair Lois Frankel, Rep. Joyce Beatty, Rep. Julia Brownley, Rep. Chrissy Houlahan, Rep. Annie Kuster, and Rep. Norma Torres.